Scholarships for Every Level of Education

The Community Foundation of Jackson County offers a scholarship program that administers 56 scholarships at many different levels of education. They range from a few hundred dollars to full tuition, books and fees. However, all are primarily focused upon students from Jackson County.

In addition to scholarships for students planning to attend four year colleges and universities, the Foundation administers several scholarships for students to attend schools offering two-year associates degrees or vocational/technical training. The Foundation uses a single application for all scholarships as well, including the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program. Applications are available online for the six high schools in Jackson County April of each year, with a mid August due date for completion.

The Community Foundation also has adult learning scholarships available. Applications may be obtained by contacting The Jackson County Learning Center at 812-519-2923.

Many contributors create endowed scholarship funds to honor or memorialize an individual or serve a specific purpose that is important to the donor. Scholarships can enable students to pursue traditional higher education or vocational training. Income from the endowment provides the scholarships each year.

 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program  

The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program began in 1997. It was created to “raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana and increase the awareness of the potential of Indiana’s community foundations to improve the quality of life of the state’s residents.” The Community Foundation of Jackson County has awarded 42 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships. Thirty-eight scholars have now graduated from college. Some have gone on to pursue postgraduate degrees. Some are now working in Jackson County, in Indiana, and beyond. Four scholars are now working on their undergraduate degrees on college campuses throughout the state.

The program will provide scholarships for otherwise unreimbursed full tuition, required fees, and a special allocation of up to $900 per year for required books and required equipment for four years of undergraduate study on a full-time basis, leading to a baccalaureate degree at any Indiana public or private nonprofit college or university accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Along with the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program, other scholarships from our foundation include:

  • Gina Shepard Ballard Scholarship Fund
  • Bateman Engineering Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. & Mrs. R. Todd Bergman Scholarship Fund
  • Louis and Judy Bobb Scholarship Fund
  • Branaman Family Scholarship
  • Marc Owen Chandler Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Crothersville Community Scholarship Fund
  • The Laura Culp Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Frische Family Endowment Fund
  • Madge and Jack Fountain Scholarship Fund
  • George Gossman Family Scholarship Fund
  • Tom and Juanita Groub Scholarship Fund
  • Connie Bowling Hehman Teacher Scholarship Fund
  • Immanuel United Church of Christ Scholarship Fund
  • Jackson County Community Scholarship
  • Jackson County Veterinary Scholarship Fund
  • Jay C Food Stores Scholarship Fund
  • The Klaes Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Marvin and Mary Klaes Memorial Adult Scholarship Fund
  • The Elmer and Ida Lacey Scholarship Fund
  • E. Morton and Julia R. Lester Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Orville and Laura Lubker/Purdue University Scholarship Fund
  • Duane Martin Vocational Scholarship Fund
  • Ruby and Floyd W. Martin Fund
  • Medora High School / Gossman Scholarship Fund
  • Marilyn Mellencamp Scholarship for the Arts
  • Harold “Teep” and Oguerita McKinney Scholarship Fund
  • Jane E. Meyer Nurse Practitioner Scholarship Fund
  • Ken A. Miller Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Julie A. Moore Scholarship Fund
  • The Bob and Eileen Prather Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Premier Companies / Bob Myers Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • John E. and Ruth A. Reedy Scholarship Fund
  • Charles and Aileen Roeger Scholarship Fund
  • The Royalty Scholarship Endowment
  • Brian T. Rudolph Memorial Nursing Scholarship Fund
  • St. Andrew United Methodist Church Scholarship Fund
  • George Schneider Scholarship Fund
  • The Seymour American Legion Post 89 Achievement Scholarship Fund
  • Seymour Firefighters Local 577 Scholarship fund
  • Seymour High School Alumni Fund
  • Seymour Tubing, Inc. Scholarship Fund
  • Seymour Kiwanis Club Scholarship Fund
  • Walter and Cora Schlehuser-Clark and Ruth Thompson Scholarship
  • William B. Sharp Scholarship Fund
  • Stuckwisch Educational Scholarship Fund
  • Omer and Jean Terkhorn Scholarship Fund
  • James Temple Thompson Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • James Ralph Thompson Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Jasper N. Thompson Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Tri Kappa Scholarship Fund
  • Dr. Charles Trumbo Endowment
  • Marcella Trumbo Scholarship Endowment
  • J. David Vandivier/Dicksons Scholarship Fund
  • The Kenneth N. and Helen Warbritton Memorial Scholarship Fund
  • Kenneth S. Warbritton Scholarship Fund
  • Richard West Memorial/Mr. & Mrs. Ruel West/Dr. & Mrs. Donald Cummings Scholarship
  • Ann Windley Leadership Scholarship Fund
  • Charles Frederick Wolter Memorial Scholarship Fund

Our Partners in Education:

For more information on our scholarship form, and further ways you can give, please call The Community Foundation of Jackson County a call at 812-523-4483 or contact us by e-mail

© 2019, Community Foundation of Jackson County. All Rights Reserved.

Community Foundation of Jackson County
107 Community Drive P.O. Box 1231 Seymour, IN47274 
Tel: 812-523-4483   E-Mail: