Library receives grant

Andy Royalty, left, of the Community Foundation of Jackson County presents Library Director Julia Aker and Jackson County Public Library Board Vice President Josh Bartley of Norman with a $1,099 grant check on Monday (April 18). The Jackson County Public Library benefits annually from a fund administered by the Foundation. The Jackson County Public Library Fund was created in July 1998 with a $5,000 grant from the Board of Directors when Jim Roberts of Seymour was its president. Donations since, including several from the Friends of the Library, have increased the fund’s balance to nearly $24,000. Aker said annual grants from the fund have made improvements at the libraries in Crothersville, Medora and Seymour. Supporters of the Jackson County Public Library may make donations to the fund as memorials, to mark milestones in their lives and through their planned giving strategies. For information, call the Foundation President & CEO Dan Davis at 812-523-4483.

Agency fund grants aid nonprofits

Annual grants from endowed agency funds administered by the Community Foundation of Jackson County assist operating and programming expenses for a number of nonprofits in Jackson County.

Recently, Priscilla Wischmeier, below, left, a member of the Foundation of Jackson County Board of Directors, presented an agency grant check to Mindy Taskey, center, and Holly Sipe of Child Care Network of Jackson County. The grant is from the Child Care Network Inc. Endowment, an agency fund administered by the Foundation.

Individuals, businesses, groups and other organizations may make donations to the fund  -- and others -- as memorial gifts or planned giving to benefit Child Care Network and its important programs serving the youth of Jackson County.

The Child Care Network Inc. Endowment was started in February 2008 with an initial gift of $4,000. It has since grown to more than $9,000.

Other agency funds provide annual support grants to Girls Inc. of Jackson County, Jackson County History Center, Jackson County Public Library, Big Brothers Big Sisters, Community Provisions of Jackson County, Turning Point Domestic Violence Services, Jackson County Industrial Development Corp. and Jackson County United Way and Boys & Girls Club of Seymour.

For information, call Dan Davis with the Foundation at 812-523-4483.

Fall Grant assists Freetown Museum's expansion

The Freetown and Pershing Township Museum is growing again.

A grant from the Community Foundation of Jackson County will help fund the expansion of the museum on State Road 58. The annex includes the addition of a former café, which houses many of the museum’s artifacts of Freetown and Pershing Township.

The grant was one of 20 awarded recently by the Foundation through its Fall Grant cycle.

In the photo below, Gary Meyer, right, of the Community Foundation of Jackson County Board of Directors presents a grant check to Sharon Yost, president of the Freetown Improvement Association, and Russell Fritz. At left is Dan Davis, the Foundation's President & CEO.

For information about donating to the Foundation, call 812-523-4483 or visit online at

Grant aids Turning Point

A grant from the Community Foundation of Jackson County’s Fall Grant cycle will help Turning Point Domestic Violence Services deliver services to Latino families in Jackson County. In the photo below, from left, Turning Point President Lisa Shafran and Charlotte Moss, the Jackson County Community Service director for Turning Point, accept a Fall Grant check from Foundation Vice President Sue Smith and Board Member Ron Sibert. The grant was among 20 granted totaling more than $43,000 approved by the Foundation through this year’s Fall Grant program. So far this year, the Foundation has awarded than $344,000 in grants and scholarships.


How to Donate

Click here to learn how you can make a difference with your donations.


See our Videos

Click here to watch videos about our donations and planned giving can make a forever difference.


Public Reports

Click here to find public reports.

Focused on:

  • Community Impact
  • Permanence
  • Proactivity
  • Flexibility
  • Professional Management
  • Stewardship


  1. Charities
  2. Local Organizations
  3. Families
  4. Community Members
  5. Donors
  6. Local Government

Board of Directors

Denise Connell - Chair
Gary Meyer - Vice Chair
Ray Eakins - Treasurer
Priscilla Wischmeier - Secretary
John Beatty
Susan Bevers
Patricia Butt
Michael A. Fleetwood
Kevin Gabbard
Ron Harrison
Jim Johnson
Thomas J. Lantz
Susan Nehrt
Darrell Persinger
Jim Plump
Andy Royalty
Ron Sibert
Dennis Wayman


Dan Davis
President & CEO

Sue Smith
Vice President

Cindy Rinehart

Lori Miller
Development Associate

Board Log-in

Playing Our Part in Local Stewardship

Community Foundation of Jackson County is a community-focused organization. Through our efforts, we stay dedicated to building visionary partnerships with donors and local service organizations, and provide funds to enhance the quality of life across Jackson County. Our employees are chosen for their knowledge of the community and tasked to be representative of a broad cross-section of the community on the whole. We possess the right kind of expertise in the many areas of management necessary to carry out the stewardship functions of the Foundation and benefit the people of our various towns. In all that we do, we promote growth, giving, and flexibility so that we can uniquely tailor all our incomes to the many needs of Jackson County.

The Community Foundation is a public non-profit corporation under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. All contributions are tax deductible to the maximum amount allowable for gifts to a public charity.

For more information about The Community Foundation of Jackson County, please contact us and speak with one of our members at 812-523-4483 or contact us by e-mail